Welcome, Guest Login

Search for Common Ground's US offices are closed on Monday 19 January 2015 for Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Requests received during this time intended for US-based staffers will be answered on 20 January, unless urgent.

SFCG Help Center

IT Update: Undo Send in Gmail - Recall an email with Undo Send

Last Updated: May 29, 2018 07:51AM EDT

How awesome our life would be of there were a reverse gear or an undo button! There might have been many things in our lives that we would want to go back to the past and just press a button to ‘undo’ those things. I am not sure about life, but technology today has enabled us to do many things that were initially not possible. Recalling an email just after sending it, is possible in Gmail. This is what you were looking for a long ?

 

There must have been certain email moments those were just - ‘oops!! I did it again!’

 
  • If you just sent an email to a wrong person;

  • If you just sent an email with a wrong attachment or an earlier version of the file(s);

  • If you just sent an email  that contains an extra word that you would want to correct after sending it;

  • And for many such ooppss! moments;

  • Undo send is possible.

 

Here is how you can undo sending of emails in Gmail.

 

First you have to enable ‘undo send’ feature

 
  1. On your computer, open Gmail.

  2. In the top right, click Settings Settings and then Settings.

  3. In the "Undo Send" section, check the box next to "Enable Undo Send."

  4. In the "Send cancellation period" section, set the amount of time you want to decide if you want to unsend an email.

  5. At the bottom of the page, click Save Changes.

Undo sending your message

After you turned on Undo Send, you can cancel sending an email.

  1. After you send a message, you'll see the message "Your message has been sent" and the option to Undo or View message. This message will appear for the duration that you have enabled undoing for. Max is 30 seconds for now.

  2. Click Undo to undo sending.

  3. You will be taken to the compose email page again with your email content in editing mode.

  4. Make changes, and now send or discard your email.

Please Note:

  • If you click anywhere on the page while ‘undo send’ message is being displayed, for instance,  you chose to go to the inbox again, or refreshed the page, the undo send feature will go away before the duration you have chosen for undo sending.

  • The Undo send feature is not available for mobile versions of Gmail.

  • In the upcoming version of Gmail, Undo Send is turned on by default and set to 5 seconds. However, the time limit can be still be changed via this process.

  •  
 
689681b829d1d400d79cf6c0830043a7@sfcg.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete